TikTok, the latest social network to copy BeReal

The platform has just launched a new feature to, as on the French social network, invite users to take a photo or video at a certain time of the day. It will be tested in France in the coming weeks.

After instagram and Snapchat, it’s TikTok that seeks to copy BeReal, the French application that continues to gain popularity for its authentic and spontaneous aspect. The Chinese platform announced on September 15 the arrival of a new feature: TikTok Now. Every day, at a random time, it will prompt users to take a ten-second photo or video with their smartphones’ front and back cameras. By adding the ability to take a short video, TikTok sets itself apart from BeReal. Another difference: users will have 3 minutes to photograph themselves against 2 minutes on the French application.

©TikTok

Available in test form in the coming weeks in France, TikTok Now will be accessible on the social network, but also in a new dedicated application. “We will continue to strengthen the user experience by observing the use of this new creative format by our community”indicates TikTok in a communicated.

A feature with security measures

The social network also specifies that it has included measures to ensure the security and protect the privacy of users. They have the possibility to decide who can see or interact with their content, comments appearing there and block other users. They can also report people who they believe have violated the platform’s Community Rules.

Privacy level, as on TikTok, an account will be configured in private mode by default for any user under the age of 16. With this setup, only people they approve can subscribe to their account and view their videos or bios. Moreover, these photos and videos “authentic” cannot be shared on the “For You” feed for underage users and those between the ages of 13 and 15 will have their commenting options limited to “Friends” to protect them from unwanted interactions. Users over 18 will have the option of configuring their privacy settings to share their content with their “Friends” or “Everyone”.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.