Will Algeria replace Ecuador? FIFA has decided!

Dismissed by the Fifa in the sulphurous affair of the refereeing of Bakary Gassama during the match Algeria-Cameroonthe Algerian selection maintained a slim hope of seeing theEcuador be disqualified in his favor and this, after the alignment of an ineligible player during the playoffs of the 2022 World Cup in South America area. However, the world body cut short any speculation by officially announcing this Saturday September 17 that ” The Ecuadorian Tri will indeed be present at the Qatar…!

L’Ecuador can breathe a big sigh of relief! Accused of having lined up a player in possession of false papers during the playoffs of the 2022 World Cup (Byron Castillo), the Ecuadorians were threatened with exclusion from the next World Cup to Qatar. Finally, the complaint has just been officially rejected by the FIFA Appeal Committee this Saturday September 17.

“The FIFA Appeal Committee has ruled in the appeals lodged by the Chilean Football Federation (FFCH) and the Peruvian Football Federation (FPF) against the decision of the FIFA Disciplinary Committee regarding the potential ineligibility of player Byron David Castillo Segura. The latter had taken part in eight matches of the preliminary competition of the FIFA World Cup, Qatar 2022 ™ with the selection of the Ecuadorian Football Federation (FEF).

After analyzing all of the documents submitted by the parties and holding a hearing, the Appeals Committee confirmed the decision of the Disciplinary Committee to close the proceedings against the FEF. Among other considerations, it considered, on the basis of the documents presented to it, that the player should be considered as a holder of Ecuadorian nationality on a permanent basis, in accordance with art. 5 para. 1 of the Regulations Implementing the FIFA Statutes, explained the international body in a press release published on its official website.

“The conclusions of the decision rendered by the FIFA Appeal Committee have been notified today to the parties concerned. This decision may be appealed to the Court of Arbitration for Sport. also specifies the Fifa.

Here is the FIFA press release – September 17, 2022:

The final list of 32 nations qualified for the 2022 World Cup:

CAF zone (Africa) – 5 places/5 qualified:

Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco, Ghana, Tunisia.

UEFA zone (Europe) – 13 places/13 qualified countries

Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, Netherlands, England, Switzerland, Portugal, Poland, Wales.

AFC zone (Asia) – 6 places/6 qualified:

Qatar (host country), Iran, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Australia.

CONCACAF zone (North, Central America and Caribbean) – 4 places/4 qualified:

Canada, Mexico, United States, Costa Rica.

CONMEBOL Zone (South America) – 4 Qualified/4 Qualified:

Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Ecuador.

Read also: >> World 2022: FIFA closes the Algeria-Cameroon file! (Official)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.